SHRM Certification Commission

SHRM has established a governance body called the SHRM Certification Commission that will serve as a technical advisory committee for the certifying activities of SHRM. We are designing our certification program to meet the highest standards of the industry and are creating the SHRM Certification Commission in order to ensure the quality and impartiality of the program.

The SHRM Certification Commission will oversee all technical aspects of the certification program, including the overall development of the exam, eligibility requirements and issuance of recertification. Responsibilities include review and approval of such aspects as certificant eligibility, exam specifications and scoring, ensuring impartiality in certification activities and ensuring due consideration of appeals and complaints. The commission will be comprised of volunteers who have extensive HR and business expertise from industries and organizations around the world.

During regular operations, the Commission members will serve two-year terms, with the Commission Chair serving one year in that responsibility.

Commission members will not be financially compensated for their involvement with the SHRM Certification Commission. Members will be reimbursed for their fair and reasonable expenses which are directly related to the business of the Commission.

Wayne Cascio, Ph.D.
Distinguished university professor and the Robert H. Reynolds chair in global leadership at the University of Colorado-Denver School of Business
View Bio

Other Commission members are:

John Boudreau, Ph.D.
Professor of management and organization, Marshall School of Business, University of Southern California, and research director, the Center for Effective Organizations
View Bio

Trent Burner
Vice president, global organizational effectiveness, Wal-Mart Stores Inc.
View Bio

Jeff Lindeman
Senior Director, Talent and Engagement, San Diego County Regional Airport Authority
View Bio
Betty Lonis
Vice president, Human Resources, Navient
View Bio
Santrupt Misra, Ph.D.
Director, group human resources, Aditya Birla Group in India
View Bio
James Outtz, Ph.D.
President, Outtz and Associates
View Bio
Susan Podlogar
Vice President, Human Resources, Johnson & Johnson
View Bio
Richard Vosburgh, Ph.D.
President, RMV Solutions, and Vice Chair, HR People & Strategy (HRPS) Board of Directors
View Bio
Tim Young
Director, Field Human Resources, AutoZone Inc.
View Bio

Sheldon Zedeck, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus of Psychology, University of California-Berkeley
View Bio