SHRM Board of Directors Meeting Summary: August 15, 2014

A special meeting of the 2014 Board of Directors of the Society for Human Resource Management (“SHRM”) was held via conference phone on August 15, 2014. At its meeting, the Board:

  • Noting the benefit to the Board of obtaining additional expertise on certification, as allowed by the SHRM bylaws approved a motion to adopt the recommendation of the Governance Committee that the Board of Directors appoint Thomas W. Derry to the SHRM Board of Directors effective immediately for a term through December 31, 2016

  • Approved a motion to adopt the recommendation of the Governance Committee to approve the following Nominees to serve as the Candidates for Election to the 2015 SHRM Board of Directors* for terms as indicated below:

    New Board MemberTerm Beginning 1/1/15
    Patrick M. Wright, Ph.D. 2 years
    Gretchen Zech, SPHR, GPHR 2 years

    Existing Board MemberTerm Beginning 1/1/15
    Jeffrey M. Cava , Director At Large 1 year
    Jorge Consuegra, Director At Large 2 years
    My-Chau Nguyen, CPA, Director At Large 2 years

  • Voted to approve a motion to fund the remaining portion of the cost of a 2014 national media campaign from reserves.


*Also serving on the SHRM Board in 2015 will be the following Board Members:

Brian D. Silva, SPHR,GPHR, serving the first year of a 2 year term as Chair

Bette J. Francis, SPHR, serving one year term as Immediate Past Chair

Henry G. (Hank) Jackson, CPA, SHRM President/CEO as an Ex-Officio Voting Director

Coretha M. Rushing, GPHR and Jose Tomas, SPHR, serving the third year of a three year term as Directors-At-Large

David Windley and Scott Washburn, SPHR serving the second year of a two year term as Director-At-Large

Also, Thomas W. Derry by appointment to the Board


Hire the best HR talent or advance your own career.


HR Daily Newsletter

News, trends and analysis, as well as breaking news alerts, to help HR professionals do their jobs better each business day.