Not a Member?  Become One Today!

Qualification Levels

The SHRM Testing Center is designed for HR professionals who use tests and assessment products in their work. Since these instruments have differing qualifications for use, registered users are assigned a “User Qualification Level” based upon their education, training and experience.

About User Qualification Levels
While the SHRM Testing Center does distribute some Level D (Non-Controlled) instruments that are available without specific qualifications, most of the business and HR related products are Level C instruments.

Levels A and B are typically reserved for clinical instruments (though some personality and critical thinking tests are categorized as Level B by their publishers).

User Qualification Levels

Level D (Non-Controlled Instruments)

  • Individuals with a demonstrated need for testing as part of their professional role (i.e., athletic coaches, trainers, motivational speakers) but without formal training

Level C

  • Bachelor's degree in psychology or related discipline (i.e., counseling, education, human resources, nursing, organizational development, personnel, social work, training) & coursework in the use of test assessments; or
  • Equivalent training under auspices of a reputable organization focused on test assessments; or
  • Membership in a professional organization requiring training & experience in the use of tests or surveys; or
  • Certification by an organization with similar proficiency requirements; or
  • Demonstrated experience in use of test assessments as part of career professional role

Level B

  • Graduate degree in psychology or related discipline; and
  • Graduate-level coursework in Tests & Measurements; or
  • Equivalent training under the auspices of a reputable organization specifically focused on Tests & Measurements

Level A

  • Doctoral degree in psychology or a related discipline; or
  • Professional licensure to practice psychology or related discipline independently